Governor Anoatubby presents the Jim Thorpe Award at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show

Chickasaw Nation Governor Anoatubby  presented the Jim Thorpe Award during The 2013 Home Depot College Football Awards –Thursday, Dec. 12,  on ESPN.

The award, which is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding defensive back, is named after Jim Thorpe (1887-1953), a Native American Olympic champion and professional football player who is widely-regarded as the greatest athlete of his time.

The 23nd annual awards show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Ponder, originated from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.